Sanpete Primary Election Canvas Results

Published on July 08, 2014 at 01:42PM

(Manti) The primary election held in Sanpete County in June is now complete with all votes counted in the official canvas. There was no change in the outcome of the races, despite over one hundred absentee and provisional ballots that were not included in initial numbers. Brian Nielson defeated Gary Larsen by 146 votes in the race for sheriff. Claudia Jarrett won by nearly 900 votes over challenger Eric Zeeman for county commission, and Devin Perry pulled off a narrow victory over Whitney Allred for the treasurer position. That contest was decided by just 24 votes. With no challengers from other parties, the winners of the primary will likely be the winners of the election to be held in November.