Utah College Track & Field Roundup: 4/14

Utah College Track & Field Roundup: 4/14

LOGAN, Utah-Saturday, as the Mark Faldmo Invitational concluded, various Utah-based star track and field athletes excelled.

In the women’s 100-meter dash, BYU’s Madie Mathews won the crown in a time of 12.23 seconds, and also won the 200-meter dash in a time of 24.18 seconds.

The Cougars also got wins in the men’s 100 and 200-meter dashes from Ramarco Thompson in 10.85 and 21.37 seconds, respectively.

Weber State swept the titles in the women’s and men’s 400-meter dashes with Brinn Jensen getting the women’s win in 55.91 seconds and Daunte Atkinson getting the men’s win in 48.33 seconds.

Tylee Newman won the women’s 800-meter run in 2:12.69 for Utah State while the Aggies got wins in the women’s and men’s 1500-meter runs as Shannon Maloney got the win in 4:35.60, with Sam Coleman getting the men’s win in 3:49.51.

The Aggies also got the sweep in the women’s and men’s 3000-meter steeplechase as Katie Struthers won it for the women in 11:11.53 and Stokton Smith was the men’s winner in 9:22.46.

The women’s 100-meter hurdles winner was Nicole Lord of BYU in 13.69 seconds and the men’s 110-meter hurdles winner was BYU’s Jesus Serrano in 14.67 seconds.

The women’s 400-meter hurdles winner was Weber State’s Kate Sorensen in 1:00.59 and Joey Czellecz won the me’s 400-meter hurdles for Weber State in 53.43 seconds.

The men’s long jump winner was Utah State’s Leaugen Fray-Benoit in 23-04.00  and the women’s triple jump winner was Utah State’s Bailey Meseda, leaping 37-05.25 feet.

Andrea Stapleton of BYU won the women’s high jump in a leap of 5-10.50 feet and Fray-Benoit of Utah State won the men’s high jump with a leap of 6 feet 11 inches.

Sam Nelson of Utah State was the men’s pole vault with a leap of 16-11.50 feet and Weber State’s Justin Herbert won the men’s hammer throw with a toss of 195-01 feet.

BYU’s Elyse Cuthbertson won the women’s javelin with a toss of 140 feet and in the women’s shot put, Brenn Flint of Utah State took the women’s shot put title with a toss of 52-09.25 feet.

In the men’s shot put, David Hirschmann of Utah State took the crown with a toss of 57-07.75 feet and Weber State’s women won the 4 x 100 relay in 47.41 seconds, a team consisting of Amy Teal, Brinn Jensen, Emily Morgan and Starlee Woodbury.

The men’s 4 x 100 relay champions were the Utah State Aggies in a time of 41.41 seconds with Garen Early, Braden Kram, Austin Lane and Junior Tovar all contributing.

The women’s and men’s 4 x 400 relays were each won by Utah State in times of 3:46.38 and 3:13.68 respectively.