Millard Wins 2-A Wrestling Title For First Time Since 2013; Monticello Goes Back-To-Back in 1-A

Millard Wins 2-A Wrestling Title For First Time Since 2013; Monticello Goes Back-To-Back in 1-A

RICHFIELD, Utah-The Millard Eagles posted 262 points to clinch their first state wrestling title since 2013 to headline the strong showings of many Mid-Utah Radio Sports Network athletes competing at the 1-A and 2-A state wrestling championship meet Saturday at the Sevier Valley Center.

The title is the 18th in school history for the Eagles, with their first state wrestling title coming in 1939.

Beaver placed third with 202 points, North Sevier was fourth with 165.5 points, Gunnison finished eighth with 108.5 points and Kanab placed ninth with 93 points.

Headlining the Eagles’ magnificence was 57-0 Calun Whitaker winning the 2-A state title at the 220-pound class.

Whitaker won the title by vanquishing Altamont’s MacIntyre Thacker 35-10.

In the 120-pound class in 2-A, Beaver’s Brian Evans took the individual state title by besting Tezlin Winn of Gunnison.

At 126 pounds, Millard got another individual 2-A state title from Van Bray who bested Beaver’s John Evans 9-4.

At 138 pounds in 2-A, Kanab’s Cody Stubbs won the state title, outlasting Beaver’s Brock Edwards 9-6. Stubbs also earned the most outstanding wrestler for the lower weight class distinction for 2-A.

Millard’s Hayden Anderson is the 145-pound 2-A state champion, downing Altamont’s Dean Thompson 6-3.

Another individual state title for the Eagles came at 160 pounds as John Whitaker bested Beaver’s Hunter Joseph.

Finally, at 285 pounds, North Sevier’s Tanner Sorenson took the 2-A state title, overpowering Carson Peterson of Gunnison 10-3.

At the 1-A level, Monticello won its 11th state title in school history and their second consecutive state title as the Buckaroos amassed 207.5 points.

Panguitch was second with 143 points, Milford was third with 140 points, Wayne placed fourth with 117.5 points and Piute placed sixth with 71.5 points.

At 113 pounds in 1-A, Panguitch’s Porter Schoppe took a state title with a win over Rich’s Joseph Trujillo.

At 126 pounds, Wayne’s Wade Jeffery took the 1-A crown by prevailing 2-0 over Milford’s Karson Wunderlich.

His teammate, Mason Wells, is the 1-A 132-pound champion by getting past Blake Barnes of Milford.

At 170 pounds, Milford’s Bryson Barnes took the 1-A state title by besting Hunter Marshall of Panguitch.

The 1-A 182-pound champion is Flint Holm of Milford, who prevailed over Diamond Ranch’s Dillon Bouvang.

The 1-A 220-pound champion is Wayne’s Jacob Oldroyd as he dominated Monticello’s Dillon Slack 7-2.

Finally, at 285 pounds in 1-A, Milford’s Ike Keller took the state title, besting Wayne’s Daniel Ayala.