Where fireworks are NOT allowed in Utah for Independence Day

Where fireworks are NOT allowed in Utah for Independence Day

The following is a list of some restrictions throughout Utah for both campfires and fireworks. A Red Flag Warning has been issued the the National Weather Service with high temperatures and winds.

Those who violate restrictions face a $1,000 fine and possible imprisonment.


All BLM public lands in Washington, Iron, Beaver, Garfield, Kane, Sanpete, Sevier, Wayne and Piute Counties

  • No possession or detonation of explosives
  • No campfires, except in permanently constructed cement or metal fire pits provided in agency developed campgrounds and picnic areas.
  • No grinding, cutting or welding of metal
  • No operating or using any internal or external combustion engine without a spark arresting device properly installed and working.
  • No fireworks, incendiary, chemical devices or pyrotechnics.


Beaver – No areal fireworks in city limits. Fireworks only allowed at Swimming Pool Parking Lot, Fire District Parking Lot, City Center North Parking Lot.

Henefer – The Council has also banned all fireworks, and open fires within city limits. A resolution was passed on June 28, for as long as the fire danger is high.

Lehi – Fireworks are prohibited north of State Route 92 and along the Dry Creek corridor from 1200 East to Center Street.

Payson – All of the wildland, canyon, foothill areas, and any lands used for agricultural purposes including all incorporated areas of Payson City and everything south and east starting on south Main Street north to 1150 south, east to Payson Canyon Road, north to 800 South, east to 600 East, north to 400 South, east to Goosenest Drive and continuing to Gladstan Golf Course. These areas are closed to fireworks of any kind until further notice.

Torrey –  All fireworks are banned.

Cedar City – All fireworks restricted.

Cedar Fort – All fireworks restricted.

Green River – Fireworks restricted in all areas, with the exception of the shooting park on July 4th, before or after the City Fireworks program.

Gunnison – Only class C fireworks allowed. Fireworks must be discharged 20 feet from any residence, dwelling or structure, outside of city limits.

Marysvale –  All fireworks restricted.

Milford –  Restrictions include all aerial fireworks that shoot greater than 10 feet are restricted. Fireworks are to be shot off on private property in areas that are at least 10 feet in diameter on mineral soil, concrete, or asphalt.

Millville – All areas East of 550 East restricted.

Moab –  Fireworks restricted within 150 feet of Mill Creek and Pack Creek.

Panguitch – All fireworks restricted.

Paragonah – All fireworks restricted.

Santaquin – All fireworks restricted.

Utah County –  Fireworks restricted in all unincorporated areas of Utah County.

Restricted Lands in Washington, Iron, Beaver, Kane, Garfield, Coconino, and Mojave Counties:

  • Unincorporated privately owned and all state administered lands (Utah Division of Forestry Fire and State Lands).  Incorporated towns and cities are not included in these restrictions.  (Contact your local fire department for municipal restrictions).
  • Bureau of Land Management administered public land (Utah and Arizona Strip).
  • Dixie National Forest (Pine Valley, Cedar City, Powell and Escalante Ranger Districts).
  • National Park Service (Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, Cedar Breaks National Monument, Pipe Springs National Monument, Glen Canyon National Recreation Area, and Rainbow Bridge National Monument).
  • Bureau of Indian Affairs (Trust Lands of the Shivwits, Cedar, Indian Peaks, and Kaibab Band Reservations).


  1. Igniting, building, attending, using a fire, campfire, charcoal, coal, wood stove fire, including fires in developed campgrounds and improved sites.  All debris burning is strictly prohibited. No campfires are allowed in any location until restrictions are rescinded.
  2. Discharging, or using any kind of fireworks on unincorporated private land (always prohibited on state and federal lands).
  3. Operating or using any internal or external combustion engine without a spark arresting device properly installed, maintained and in effective working order as determined by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) recommended practices J335 and J350.
  4. Operating a chainsaw or other motorized equipment powered by an internal combustion engine, other than motorized vehicles between the hours of1:00 PM and 10:00 PM. A one hour fire watch is required after chainsaw or other motorized equipment has shutdown.
  5. Detonating of explosives, incendiary or chemical devices, pyrotechnics, or exploding targets, or tracer ammunition (always prohibited on federal land).
  6. Cutting, welding, or grinding of metal in areas of dry vegetation.
  7. Smoking except in an enclosed vehicle or building, or a developed recreation site or areas of a minimum of three  feet in diameter cleared down to mineral soil


In Glen Canyon National Recreation Area, campfires are permitted below the high water mark of the lake in areas devoid of vegetation.


Color Country Fire Restrictions

Payson Map

Santaquin Fireworks Restrictions

St-George Firework Restrictions

Springville Fireworks Restrictions